What is CET Exam in India? Eligibility, Syllabus, Age Limit, Fees, Registration

Usually, whenever you have to apply for multiple jobs in the government sector, if you wish to apply for the different jobs posted by different government sectors. That can be a tough task for many students as they will have to apply for multiple posts, fees and sometimes travel to another city for giving the exam. To eliminate this problem, the National Recruitment Agency or NRA has come up with a good solution, and that is CET. The full form of CET is the Common Entrance Test. It will not just reduce the burden on the students, but it will also reduce the burden on the recruitment agencies.

What is CET Exam? 

CET exam or Common Entrance Test is conducted by the NRA. This exam is a simple replacement for the prelims exams or the tier – I exams conducted by many central government agencies. This exam is conducted twice every year. This score will help in selecting the candidates for the post of Group B and Group C. Once the exam is cleared and you get the CET score, the candidate’s score will be shared with all the recruitment agencies. Now, based on their score, the candidates will be called for the next level of the exam by the recruitment agencies. Once the scorecard is issued, the score is valid for another three years.

It is a multiple-choice-based exam and is conducted online only. You will have to apply for the exam online and download the admit card also from teh internet. We have different CET exams for Railways, SSC and Bank Exams, and earlier, many students use to take so many tests for getting a job. But now, all these three recruitment agencies will conduct just one CET, and the scorecard will be shared with all the three agencies. This is like a screening test for all three exams conducted by SSC, IBPS and RRB. When you qualify for the first round (CET), you are eligible for the Tier II and Tier III exams conducted by these agencies.

CET Exam

Different CET exam is conducted based on the qualification of the students – for 10th passed, 12th or matriculation passed and graduates. So, based on your qualification or the post that you are applying for, you will have to choose the CET exam that you need to apply for.

Eligibility for CET Exam 

Here are some of the important details about the eligibility criteria for the CET exam in India:

Eligibility Criteria:

When it comes to the educational qualification or eligibility, it totally depends on the kind of exam that you are applying for. They are conducted in three different stages for those who have passed 10th, 12th and graduation. So, make sure that you read the notification carefully before applying for it.

Nationality Criteria:

  • The candidate should be an Indian.
  • They can be a subject from Bhutan or Nepal.
  • The Tibetan Refugees came to India for permanent settlement before 1st January 1962.

If you are applying for the CET exam for any reason other than an Indian, then you will have to submit a certificate supporting your reason. Otherwise, you will not be allowed to take this exam.

CET Exam Syllabus 

For the CET exam, you will have to prepare yourself in three different categories. The candidates will be assessed on three aspects like General English, Reasoning Ability and Quantitative aptitude. The syllabus for each section is as follows:

Quantitative Aptitude:

  • Data Interpretation
  • Measures of Central Tendency and Variation
  • Mensuration: Cylinder, Cone, Sphere, and Cuboid
  • Mixtures and Alligations
  • Number Systems
  • Percentages
  • Permutation and Combination
  • Probability
  • Profit and Loss
  • Ratio And Proportion
  • Series and Sequences
  • Simple and Compound Interest
  • Simplification
  • Surds and Indices
  • Time and Distance Equations
  • Work and Time Equations

Reasoning Ability:

  • Alphabet Combination
  • Alphanumeric Series
  • Assertion and Reason
  • Coded Inequalities
  • Coding and Decoding
  • Data Sufficiency Tests
  • Directions
  • Input/output
  • Logical Reasoning
  • Picture Series Puzzles
  • Ranking
  • Relationships
  • Seating Arrangements
  • Syllogism
  • Tabulation
  • The statement, Argument, and Assumption
  • Word Formation

General English:

  • (Fill in the blanks)/Cloze Test
  • Error Detection
  • Idioms & Phrases
  • Multiple Meanings(Contextual Usage)
  • Paragraph and passage completion
  • Paragraph Jumbles
  • Reading Comprehension
  • Rules for Tenses
  • Tenses Rules

Age Limit for CET Exams

For every exam that is conducted by the state government or central government, there will be an age limit. You will have to make sure that you meet this requirement. You will have to between the ages of 20 years to 30 years for applying for the CET exam. But this age limit keeps changing every year or as per the requirement of the post available. So, it is very important to make sure that you check the age limit in the notification before you apply for it.

There is relaxation for the candidates belonging to reserved categories, and the details are as follows:

  • For OBC, it is three years.
  • For ST and SC, it is five years.
  • Persons with Disabilities get a relaxation up to 10 years.
  • Ex-servicemen get relaxation for up to 5 years.
  • For Divorced and widows, it is nine years.
  • Persons affected by the 1984 riots get relaxation for up to 5 years.
  • For persons with Domicile of Jammu &Kashmir during the period of 1-1-1980 to 31-12-1989, it is five years.

Fees for CET Exams

When you are filling the CET application form, you will have to make a payment for the exam. There is a nominal fee for the general category applicants only. The candidates belonging to the reserved category need not have to pay any kind of fee. They can apply for free on the website, or some of them will have to pay the other charges, excluding the examination fee. The complete details will be available on the website.

The registration process of CET Exams

Before applying for the CET exam in India, you need to understand the correct process of doing it. That will help you in saving some time. So, here is the registration process for the CET exam:

  • You should first visit the NRA website or the official website for the CET exam and fill in all the required details.
  • Once you are done filling the application, you will be directed to the payment page. Only general category candidates will have to pay the application fee, whereas the reserved category is exempted from it.
  • You will be intimated by an email or message to registered mobile numbers when the admit cards are uploaded on the website. You can easily download the admit card and carry it along with you to the test center.
  • Once the results are announced, you will receive a message if you have qualified for the exam. The results will be uploaded on the official website, and you can easily download the scorecard from the website.
  • The score is valid for three years, and if you are eligible for any tier II or tier III exams conducted by the three recruitment agencies, then you will receive a call or email. You can appear for the next level of exams with the help of the scorecard for another three years.

If you write the CET exam again within three years, then the best scorecard will be considered as the valid scorecard, and the rest will not be considered.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top